County Committee To Host 18th Annual Workers’ Memorial Day

FREWSBURG- The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee will hold its 18th Annual Workers’ Memorial Day on Saturday, May 5, 2018 at 11 a.m. at the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site at Erlandson Overview Park on Oak Hill Road.
Workers’ Memorial Day is a day of remembering all of the men and women from Chautauqua County who have been killed on the job, in the line of duty, or died from job related causes. This year’s ceremony will recognize over 140 individuals who have passed away since 1980.
The event is open to the public, and the keynote speaker will be Chautauqua County Executive George Borrello. Other speakers include New York State Senator Cathy Young, New York State Assemblyman Andrew Goodell, and Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) Local 807 President Bonnie Peters.
The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site is made possible through the cooperation of Chautauqua County Government, Chautauqua County Parks Commission, local labor organizations, and by donations from supporters.
“I encourage residents to join us on May 5th as we remember our fellow workers and loved ones who have lost their lives while working,” said Borrello. “It is by honoring them and their memory that we are constantly reminded about the need to create and promote safe work environments for all employees.”
Members of the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee are Co-Chairman George Borrello, County Executive; Co-Chairman Doug Stock, President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; Co-Chairman Dave Wilkinson, Jamestown Central Labor Council; Secretary and Treasurer Robert Dando Jr., National Conference of Firemen and Oilers SEIU 32BJ; Reva Byczynski, Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) Local #903/3; Mary Ellen Decker, New York State United Teachers—Dunkirk Teachers (Retired); Don Emhardt, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local #106; Paul Fardink, Friend of Labor Management; Hank Hoisington, (CSEA) Local #903/3; James Kurtz, (CSEA) Local #903/3; Bonnie Peters, CSEA Local #807/6300; Jack Rudy, President Emeritus of Jamestown Central Labor Council; William Servis, Pipefitter and Sprinkler Local #699; Steve Skidmore, CSEA Local #807/6300; George Spitale, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Local #418; and Gary Swain, Operating Engineers Local #17.