A Break Down of Elections: County Level

MAYVILLE-Numerous races will occur this November throughout the county. The county level, itself, will be headlined by the race for County Executive.

County Legislator George Borello (R-Hanover) will battle Fredonia Democrat Mike Ferguson for retiring Vince Horrigan’s position.

Cassadaga Democrat Leeann Lazarony will attempt to dethrone Republican County Clerk incumbent Larry Barmore.


Democrat Tommy Roque will challenge incumbent Republican Kevin Muldowney for District 1 (Dunkirk.) Democrat Bob Bankoski, however, appears to be running unopposed for District 2 (also part of Dunkirk).

County Working Family Parties Leader Bob Dando will challenge incumbent  Bob Scudder for District 3 (Fredonia-Pomfret). Democrat Christine Starks of Fredonia appears to be unopposed for District 4.

District 5 (Sheridan, Arkwright, Villenova, East Pomfret and Town/Village Cherry Creek) incumbent Republican Terry Niebel appears to be running unopposed.

Hanover Town Councilman Kevin O’Connell seeks to replace Borello for District 6 (Silver Creek and Town of Hanover).

District 7 Republican legislator Mark Odell (Brocton, Stocton, Cassadaga) appears to be running unopposed as of now. District 8-Homemaker Jeri Ann Simora, a political new comer, is challenging Republican Pierre E Chagnon, who represents Bemus Point and the towns of Ellery and N. Harmony.

District 9 Jamestown Democratic Legislator Chuck Nazzaro appears to be unopposed. District 10 legislator P.J. Wendel (R) also appears to be unopposed for the Southwest Jamestown area as well as parts of Busti.

District 11-Jamestown businessman and political new comer Frank Besse is challenging County Republican Party Chair Dave Wilfong in District 11.  District 12-Political new comer Dave Reinhardt, director of athletics for Chautauqua Striders, is challenging Elisabeth Rankin, who is the executive assistant to Assemblyman Andy Goodell.

Jamestown native Paul Whitford appears to be running unopposed for District 13. Mark Tarbake and Lisa Vanstrom (Republicans, 14 and 15) also appear to be running unopposed.

District 16-Poland Town Councilman Terry Walker is running to take over from retiring Legislator Ron Lemon, representing Frewsburg, Kennedy and the towns of Poland, Carroll and Kiantone.

District 17 Legislator Jay Gould III appears to be running unopposed.

District 18-Chautauqua Lake Elementary school principal Ella Ames, a registered Independence Party member, is challenging Republican Legislature Chairman David Himelein, representing Mayville and Findley Lake and the towns of Sherman, Mina and all but a small eastern sliver of Chautauqua Town.

District 19-Ripley Library Board President Laurel Adams, also a political new comer, is challenging Republican John Hemmer, representing Westfield and Ripley.