Buffalo Bills QB Carted Off Of The Field; Patriots Roll To Victory

ORCHARD PARK, N.Y. (AP) — Rex Burkhead scored twice  and the New England Patriots won their eighth straight by beating the Buffalo Bills 23-3, continuing their dominance over their AFC East rival.

Tom Brady went 21 of 30 for 258 yards and an interception, while improving to 27-3 over Buffalo and breaking Brett Favre’s NFL record for most wins by a quarterback against any one opponent. Favre had 26 wins over Detroit.

Brady needed to simply stand aside and let the Patriots’ rejuvenated rushing attack wear down the Bills in a game New England never trailed. Dion Lewis had 92 yards rushing and Burkhead had 78.

The Bills (6-6) not only lost the game, but also lost starting quarterback Tyrod Taylor, who was carted off the sideline with a left knee injury in the opening minute of the fourth quarter. It’s unclear when Taylor was hurt, though he began favoring his left leg after being sacked by David Harris on Buffalo’s first play from scrimmage.

After the game Head Coach Sean McDermott said Taylor was still being evaluated.

Nathan Peterman took over and oversaw a 13-play, 73-yard drive that stalled at the Patriots 1. The drive ended on fourth-and-goal when Peterman’s fade pass intended for Zay Jones was batted away by cornerback Stephon Gilmore, Buffalo’s former 2012 first-round draft pick. Gilmore spent his first five seasons in Buffalo before signing with the Patriots in free agency this past offseason.

Peterman finished 6 of 15 for 50 yards passing in his first appearance since throwing five interceptions in the first half of a 54-24 loss at the Los Angeles Chargers on Nov. 19.

Taylor finished 9 of 18 for 65 yards and a costly interception. It happened on Buffalo’s opening possession with the Bills facing first-and-goal at the Patriots 6. Taylor double-pumped in the pocket before throwing a pass directly to linebacker Eric Lee at goal line.

Patriots: Play second of three straight on road at Miami on Dec. 11

Bills: Continue three-game homestand, hosting Indianapolis on Dec. 10.